Welcome to NIPHLE: The National Institute of Packaging, Handling, and Logistics Engineers

DUNS Number: 780740242

CAGE Code: 4HMK6

Niphle Call for Design Competition Packages 2017

    Submission information for the NIPHLE annual Packaging achievement award, Handling achievement award, Logistics achievement award, Stewart award, and the James A. Russell Memorial award. These awards are presented each spring at our annual NIPHLE national training to persons who have made outstanding contributions to government and industry within the packaging, handling, and logistics disciplines. This years NIPHLE national training will be held on the Tobyhanna Army Depot at the Landing the week of 7 – 10 May 2018.   Recipients may be from either government or industry.  


    Nominations must state the field in which the nominee is to be judged (see below) and include the name,address, phone number, employer, and the position title of both the nominee and the nominator.  Sufficient detailed information about the nominee’s accomplishments must be provided to allow the judges to score the nominee without additional research to obtain information about the type and value of their accomplishments.  Award information can be found on the NIPHLE web site under the “Scholarship” drop down box.  


    Anyone may submit a nomination except members of the award committee.  Any individual in the packaging, materials handling or logistics field may be nominated, whether they are a member of NIPHLE or not.  There shall be no time limitation with respect to the contribution made by the individual.  Judging is based on the nominee’s total contribution to the field rather than to a particular project or period of time.  The nomination should be limited to 4 pages of text.


Awards packages can be submitted electronically to Mr. Michael Werneke at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it., or by mail to 5903 Ridgeway Drive, Grand Prairie, TX 75052.  Deadline for receipt of package submission is 1 March 2018. The following is the list of NIPHLE awards categories:


1.  Stewart Award - Recognition of many years of dedicated sustained superior service above and beyond the call of duty in numerous highly responsible official capacities for NIPHLE.


2.  James A. Russell Memorial Award – Award for many years of achievements and dedicated service to NIPHLE and the packaging, handling, and logistics community.  


3.  Packaging Achievement Award


4.  Handling Achievement Award


5.  Logistics Achievement Award


6.  Corporate/ Agency of the Year Award

Mr. Michael Werneke

NIPHLE, Executive Director